Yokohama 160×600

DTM – Edoardo Mortara third in Spielberg, one point for Nico Müller


In a dominant way, Marco Wittmann has won the DTM race on Saturday at Spielberg in Austria: having started from pole position, the 2014 DTM champion crossed the line as the winner after 30 laps. For Wittmann, this is the sixth win of his DTM career. Motorsports / DTM 02 SpielbergAt the 4.326 kilometres long Red Bull Ring, he won ahead of his fellow BMW driver Tom Blomqvist, who finished second in the third DTM race of the season. Edoardo Mortara took the final slot on the podium at Spielberg after finishing third with his Audi RS 5 DTM. Nico Müller finished 10th after a great race with big battles.

Timo Glock, Martin Tomczyk and Maxime Martin completed the success for BMW at Spielberg by finishing in fourth to sixth place. Paul Di Resta emerged as the best-placed Mercedes-Benz driver from the race on Saturday. The Scot finished seventh and defended his lead in the drivers’ standings. After three of 18 season races, Di Resta is leading with 43 points from Edoardo Mortara (40 points) and Marco Wittmann (29 points).

#51 Nico Müller, Audi RS5 DTM, #84 Maximilian Götz, Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTMFor Mattias Ekström, the race was over almost before it had started: in the first corner after the start, the Swede collided with Maxime Martin and António Félix da Costa and dropped to the back of the field. With his Audi RS 5 DTM, he was still able to make up a few positions and concluded the race in 16th place. A slight consolation, with a time of 1:23.442 minutes, Ekström posted the fastest lap time and this established a new DTM lap record, the previous one having been held by his fellow Audi driver Mike Rockenfeller since 2013.

The fourth DTM race gets underway on Sunday afternoon at 15.10 hrs (live on ARD). The starting grid positions will be determined in qualifying at 12.50 hrs (live on EinsFestival).

Results Standing Press release DTM ; pictures DTM, Audi Sport]]>

Related posts