Yokohama 160×600

Lucas Auer emerges triumphant from rain-hit fixture in the Eifel

D430008Nürburgring specialist Lucas Auer (BWT Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM) has struck again, securing his third victory so far this year in the 13th DTM race of the season. He is now in second place in the championship table just one point down on the leader, Mattias Ekström (Audi, 128 points). The Austrian started from pole position in an action-packed, rain-hit race in which Mercedes-AMG Motorsport took a four-way win. This was the 31st victory for the brand at the Nürburgring. After Gary Paffett, Robert Wickens and Edoardo Mortara, Auer is now the fourth driver to win at the Nürburgring in the squad fielded by Mercedes-AMG Motorsport DTM. Prior to that, Auer, who will be 23 on Monday, secured his fourth fastest qualifying time on the trot at this track in the fifth qualifying session.

Paul Di Resta (Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM) and Robert Wickens (Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM Mercedes me) joined Auer on the podium. For Di Resta, this was his second podium finish this season after his victory in Budapest, and for Wickens his third now. Second place also brought Di Resta his 30th podium in the DTM, enabling him to draw level with Manuel Reuter in the list of the most podiums ever achieved.

All six Mercedes-AMG Motorsport DTM drivers finished in the Top Ten in a race marked by variable weather conditions. Maro Engel (SILBERPFEIL Energy Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM) finished fourth behind the three on the podium. Edoardo Mortara (BWT Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM) fought his way up from P16 to seventh place, and Gary Paffett (Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM Mercedes me) finished his 160th DTM race in tenth place.

Looking ahead to race 2: The 14th round of the 2017 DTM season starts on Sunday at 15:18 CEST (live on ARD TV at 15:00 CEST). Third practice will take place before that at 09:10 CEST followed by the second qualifying at 12:00 CEST (live on One at 11:55 CEST). During each race weekend, we will provide live timing data, live commentary, fan voting and exclusive behind-the-scenes videos of the Mercedes-AMG Motorsport DTM Team on our website at:

Comments after the race

Lucas Auer (22, Austria):

  • P1
  • Car number: 22
  • Team: BWT Mercedes-AMG Motorsport
  • Car: BWT Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM

“That was a brutal race: rain, a drying track, then rain again. The whole day was very difficult, but the result is incredible. Congratulations to the entire team – they have done a mega job today. A huge thank-you to everyone who has made this victory possible for me. At times, it was a bit confusing out there, because I emerged from the pits in P4 or P5 and I didn’t quite know what was going on. But that was in the heat of battle. Then, towards the end, I once again found I was getting good pace out of the second set of rain tyres.”

Paul Di Resta (31, Scotland):

  • P2
  • Car number: 3
  • Team: SILBERPFEIL Energy Mercedes-AMG Motorsport
  • Car: Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM

“It was difficult to see where you were, as you’re not getting any updates from the team over the radio. But we had good information before the race when the rain would be coming. I’m extremely happy and this result will give everyone a real lift. A result like today, where we’ve locked out the podium, is fantastic. The car was superb in the wet. Hopefully, we’ll have another good race tomorrow.”

Robert Wickens (28, Canada):

  • P3
  • Car number: 6
  • Team: Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Mercedes me
  • Car: Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM Mercedes me

“That was a confusing race. It was definitely one where I was wishing that I had team radio. I never knew precisely where we were, but I was really fortunate. I was on my in-lap to pit for slicks when it started raining again, so I decided to stay out and hope for the best. It was a stressful moment, but the team did a great job. Strategically, we were fantastic. Not pitting for slicks was absolutely the right thing to do. The races here at the Nürburgring are always crazy.”

Maro Engel (32, Germany):

  • P4
  • Car number: 63
  • Team: SILBERPFEIL Energy Mercedes-AMG Motorsport
  • Car: SILBERPFEIL Energy Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM

“What a mega result for the team! I’m highly delighted. A four-way win is just terrific. It was also extremely important for Lucas with regard to the championship. But for me personally too, it was a super race – I moved up from P9 to P4. I had a great car and a brilliant strategy. My thanks go to the whole team. It was superb fun today.”

Edoardo Mortara (30, Italy):

  • P7
  • Car number: 48
  • Team: BWT Mercedes-AMG Motorsport
  • Car: BWT Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM

“Ultimately, it turned out to be a difficult day for me, but we made the right decisions during the race. This enabled me to move up from P16 on the grid to finish seventh. All things considered, that’s not bad. I could obviously have been better in qualifying, so we need to work on improving this tomorrow.”

Gary Paffett (36, England):

  • P10
  • Car number: 2
  • Team: Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Mercedes me
  • Car: Mercedes-AMG C 63 DTM Mercedes me

“Congratulations to all of my team-mates. They all drove a brilliant race. Mine was none too good, unfortunately. We had just really bad luck. We pitted early for slicks, which was the right call, but then it rained again, destroying my race. We got one point in the end but could have won, so I’m really disappointed.”& amp; amp; lt; /p>

Ulrich Fritz, Head of Mercedes-AMG Motorsport DTM:

“What an incredible race! Congratulations to Luggi, Paul, Rob and Maro on taking the top four places, but our best wishes also go especially to everyone in the team. Our strategy was excellent. We kept calm in situations that mattered and made the correct decisions. This was the right way to come back after the weekend in Zandvoort, for sure.”

Race results: Top Ten

Pos Driver Manufacturer Time
1 Lucas Auer Mercedes-AMG 54:12.443
2 Paul Di Resta Mercedes-AMG +0.794
3 Robert Wickens Mercedes-AMG +1.568
4 Maro Engel Mercedes-AMG +5.344
5 René Rast Audi +9.758
6 Jamie Green Audi +24.531
7 Edoardo Mortara Mercedes-AMG +31.593               
8 Augusto Farfus BMW +49.335
9 Marco Wittmann BMW +56.886
10 Gary Paffett Mercedes-AMG +59.072

Drivers‘ Championship

Pos Driver Manufacturer Points
1 Mattias Ekström Audi 128
2 Lucas Auer Mercedes-AMG 127
9 Paul Di Resta Mercedes-AMG 77
10 Gary Paffett Mercedes-AMG 76
11 Robert Wickens Mercedes-AMG 74
14 Edoardo Mortara Mercedes-AMG 47
15 Maro Engel Mercedes-AMG 41

Manufacturers‘ Championship

Pos Manufacturer Points
1 Audi 536
2 Mercedes-AMG 442
3 BMW 413

Teams‘ Championship

Pos Team Points
1 Audi Sport Team Rosberg 231
3 BWT Mercedes-AMG Motorsport 174
5 Mercedes-AMG Motorsport Mercedes me 150
9 SILBERPFEIL Energy Mercedes-AMG Motorsport 118

Press release Mercedes-AMG


Related posts